IOS7 has stepped up their security to protect your iPhone by adding Activation Lock feature. This is a feature built into the iOS that works with Find My Phone to give greater security features should the iPhone fall into the wrong hands.
With Activation Lock, knowledge of your Apple ID and password is needed before a user can:
- Turn off Find My iPhone on your device
- Reactivate and use your device
- Erase your device
According to Apple’s Q&A:
“This can help you keep your device secure, even if it is in the wrong hands, and can improve your chances of recovering it. Even if you erase your device remotely, Activation Lock can continue to deter anyone from reactivating your device without your permission. All you need to do is keep Find My iPhone turned on, and remember your Apple ID and password”
Activation Lock locks down your iPhone or iPad when you report it lost or stolen with Find My iPhone. Once locked down, the device cannot be used by whoever is in possession of it, unless they have your Apple ID and password. Consequently, if you have forgotten your Apple ID and password, and are unable to reset it, then the device is permanently locked.
So how does Activation Lock work?
When you enable Find My Phone on IOS 7, Apple’s activation servers will securely store the Apple ID and password and link it to your device. Apple ID and Password will be needed to turn off Find My iPhone, reactivate, erase or use your device.
Activation Lock is enabled automatically when you turn on Find My iPhone in iOS 7, or when you upgrade to iOS 7 from a previous version of iOS that has Find My iPhone already turned on.
To turn on Find My iPhone on your device:
- Go to Settings
- Tap iCloud
- Sign in with your Apple ID, if necessary
- Turn on Find My iPhone
A very big word of warning though: Should you forget your Apple ID and password and are unable to reset it, then you will be unable to use the device again.
If you need to transfer your iPhone to someone else, instruction below will show you how;